PDA

View Full Version : Getting rid of screen tearing and input lag.



FeralFoxTrot
26-09-2013, 09:17 AM
With any competitive fps, it's important that your game feels smooth, while also sharp and responsive. With a new pc on the way, which will actually make use of vsync, I was wondering how you guys deal with screen tearing, or the delay imposed by vsync. I was thinking f limiting my framerate to 59 fps with msi afterburner, then turning vsync on, as I have heard people find this very useful. Hopefully this works, If not, tell me what you do to deal with this.

Effort
26-09-2013, 09:50 AM
Most games limit the inputs/second when vsync is turned on which is what creates the input lag in the first place, that or your monitor doesn't output the actual 60fps. Leave vsync off always. If you want to eliminate screen tearing, frame limit and hope its ok with vsync turned on like you said. best thing though is to get a 120hz+ monitor, you're not very likely to notice screen tearing on one :cool:

FeralFoxTrot
26-09-2013, 10:12 AM
Most games limit the inputs/second when vsync is turned on which is what creates the input lag in the first place, that or your monitor doesn't output the actual 60fps. Leave vsync off always. If you want to eliminate screen tearing, frame limit and hope its ok with vsync turned on like you said. best thing though is to get a 120hz+ monitor, you're not very likely to notice screen tearing on one :cool:

Whats your rig effort? At the moment i can't afford a 120hz monitor, or a second gtx 770 to power it.

Effort
26-09-2013, 10:28 AM
2x HD6950's (1GB) less powerfull than a single gtx770, my frames rarely drop below 100 and most of the time it sits around 120. Thats all that really matters if we're talking framerate here.
currently a mashup between my last dead rig and a mates spare rig.
8GB kingston shitty blue ram
2700k
asus maximus (can't remember the model)
500GB WD black as primary HDD
1TB seagate barracuda as recording drive (would be two but mate lost the cable bag for his psu -_-)

FeralFoxTrot
26-09-2013, 11:07 AM
2x HD6950's (1GB) less powerfull than a single gtx770, my frames rarely drop below 100 and most of the time it sits around 120. Thats all that really matters if we're talking framerate here.
currently a mashup between my last dead rig and a mates spare rig.
8GB kingston shitty blue ram
2700k
asus maximus (can't remember the model)
500GB WD black as primary HDD
1TB seagate barracuda as recording drive (would be two but mate lost the cable bag for his psu -_-)

2x 6950 is really close to an oced gtx 770, I take it you run without msaa with that kind of fps. I plan on getting a 120hz monitor, but i want to adjust to fps that is constantly above 15 before putting that much money into this, and enough experience to notice the benefits of 120hz.

Effort
26-09-2013, 11:25 AM
2x 6950 is really close to an oced gtx 770, I take it you run without msaa with that kind of fps. I plan on getting a 120hz monitor, but i want to adjust to fps that is constantly above 15 before putting that much money into this, and enough experience to notice the benefits of 120hz.

lol maybe the 2GB version, but at 1GB I hit the memory limit so fast and its extremely frame limiting. I'm uploading a video later today from a pug, you'll be able to see the frame count in the top right corner, keep in mind for some reason metro exterior is as taxing as most of the open maps like caspian (don't even ask).

my settings
http://puu.sh/4AiwQ.png

FeralFoxTrot
26-09-2013, 12:52 PM
lol maybe the 2GB version, but at 1GB I hit the memory limit so fast and its extremely frame limiting. I'm uploading a video later today from a pug, you'll be able to see the frame count in the top right corner, keep in mind for some reason metro exterior is as taxing as most of the open maps like caspian (don't even ask).

my settings
http://puu.sh/4AiwQ.png

how do you handle the fish eye from 120 fov? I can only deal with 90.

Effort
26-09-2013, 03:42 PM
You're reading the wrong fov number, in game is vertical not horizontal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWMiG5XYFpk
theres an example of my frames.

XiSTNZ
26-09-2013, 07:13 PM
How the hell do you get to see your setting like that??

Voltstriker
26-09-2013, 07:22 PM
how do you handle the fish eye from 120 fov? I can only deal with 90.

i play on 110. you get used to it.

Effort
26-09-2013, 07:58 PM
How the hell do you get to see your setting like that??

realmware bf3 settings editor


i play on 110. you get used to it.

yuck, 100 is the most you should hit in this game. fisheye extrodinare.

FeralFoxTrot
27-09-2013, 08:25 AM
Effort, whats your main clan?

XiSTNZ
27-09-2013, 04:49 PM
Effort, whats your main clan?

SoV :D

Voltstriker
27-09-2013, 05:13 PM
Effort, whats your main clan?

He is SoV born and bred. He shall never leave

Effort
27-09-2013, 06:33 PM
Going in to bf4 I will be playing for silentium, but I normally hang around MG/fnx ts.