• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • User Tag List

    Collapse This Block

    This Thread Has Been Closed

    There has been no reason given for the thread being closed.

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Thread: Need a new modem.

    1. #1
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Cool
       
      Maple's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Dec 2013
      Battlelog
      l-Maple-BANG-l
      Location
      Ocean Grove VIC
      Posts
      246

      Question Need a new modem.

      Hey everyone, I was wondering if someone could suggest a decent high performance modem for me to buy. My current modem is a very very shit one which can handle 1-2 devices of WI-FI. I need something that can handle 6+ devices quite easily.
      My only request is that it must be a NETGEAR modem.

      Thanks for the help in advance!

    2. #2
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      Krohnus's Avatar
      Join Date
      22 May 2014
      Battlelog
      El_Krohnus
      Location
      Brisbane
      Posts
      11
      Ok firstly what connection do you have, ADSL, Cable, Fibre etc? Second, what is your budget? Also if you don't mind my asking is there any particular reason that it must be a netgear modem/router (i'm assuming that you meant modem/router when you mentioned WIFI)?

    3. #3
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Cool
       
      Maple's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Dec 2013
      Battlelog
      l-Maple-BANG-l
      Location
      Ocean Grove VIC
      Posts
      246
      Quote Originally Posted by Krohnus View Post
      Ok firstly what connection do you have, ADSL, Cable, Fibre etc? Second, what is your budget? Also if you don't mind my asking is there any particular reason that it must be a netgear modem/router (i'm assuming that you meant modem/router when you mentioned WIFI)?
      Connection: ADSL. Budge $300ish.
      Motherdearest wants a Netgear.

      (key reminder: I'm 15 Krohnus)

    4. #4
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Cool
       
      Maple's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Dec 2013
      Battlelog
      l-Maple-BANG-l
      Location
      Ocean Grove VIC
      Posts
      246
      Just updating.
      Motherdearest now wants to explore different modems/routers. Same scenario just it doesn't matter if it is Netgear or not.
      Again thanks for the help boys!

    5. #5
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Enraged
       
      MrPoliceMan's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Oct 2013
      Battlelog
      MrSoundGuy
      Posts
      128
      Even though CK always complains about lag. It turns out his job is networking so ask him haha.
      I am Goofen

    6. #6
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Cool
       
      Maple's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Dec 2013
      Battlelog
      l-Maple-BANG-l
      Location
      Ocean Grove VIC
      Posts
      246
      Quote Originally Posted by MrPoliceMan View Post
      Even though CK always complains about lag. It turns out his job is networking so ask him haha.
      yeah I will, whenever he comes online...

    7. #7
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      habergowd's Avatar
      Join Date
      26 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      habergowd
      Posts
      158
      I used a netgear DM111Pv2 modem, bout $90 in JB HiFi. I would've given it to you before I left oz, now I can't.
      So yeah, that and an apple airport express, so you can have awesome wifi and everything. $120 as far as I remember.

    8. #8
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Drunk
       
      Reaver's Avatar
      Join Date
      10 Feb 2014
      Battlelog
      Surge-Reaver
      Posts
      124
      Quote Originally Posted by Maple View Post
      Just updating.
      Motherdearest now wants to explore different modems/routers. Same scenario just it doesn't matter if it is Netgear or not.
      Again thanks for the help boys!
      Any Billion will do you fine.

      Netgear Routers are ok but their modems are pieces of shit as are their Router/Modems

    9. #9
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Godly
       
      Voltstriker's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      VoItstriker
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      Over 9000!!!
      Can recommend Billion routers. Had ours for ages and it only broke because dad plugged in the wrong power cord which melted the insides due to the incorrect voltate amount. During that time we had amazing speeds rip
      Voltstriker | Head of Clan Systems & Servers | Email | Battlelog Profile | CyberGamer Profile


    10. #10
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Cool
       
      Maple's Avatar
      Join Date
      08 Dec 2013
      Battlelog
      l-Maple-BANG-l
      Location
      Ocean Grove VIC
      Posts
      246
      Quote Originally Posted by Voltstriker View Post
      Can recommend Billion routers. Had ours for ages and it only broke because dad plugged in the wrong power cord which melted the insides due to the incorrect voltate amount. During that time we had amazing speeds rip
      Anything specific?

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •