• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • User Tag List

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: How do I install OS onto SSD, but not other programs?

    1. #1
      Registered User
      Mood:
      Sneaky
       
      FeralFoxTrot's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      SoV-FeralWIFI
      Location
      NZ Auckland
      Posts
      380

      How do I install OS onto SSD, but not other programs?

      As the title explains, I want to install an OS onto an SSD, but I want most programs on my HDD. Can't I duplicate programs files and documents to the HDD, then manually direct programs, and files there? I don't mind manually directing programs, But will I have issues with programs automatically downloading to the SSD?, and what do I need on my SSD. I know drivers are recommended.

    2. #2
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Wtf
       
      IamTriggerHappy's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      IamTriggerHappy
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      612
      my approach was with every program that I downloaded and installed was to always click custom install and then change the install directory from the start.

      I only have OS and Origin + BF3 installed on my SSD. All other programs are on my other HDD

    3. #3
      Registered User
      Mood:
      Sneaky
       
      FeralFoxTrot's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      SoV-FeralWIFI
      Location
      NZ Auckland
      Posts
      380
      Does origin auto-install to disc, or do you get a choice as to where you can place programs?

    4. #4
      Lurker Extraordinaire
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      Effort's Avatar
      Join Date
      26 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      Efforttt
      Posts
      46
      http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...d-75253b893343

      pretty simple registry edit lets you permanently change the defalcate directory. Apart from that the only real thing to do is select a custom install location everytime you install something.

    5. #5
      Registered User
      Mood:
      Sneaky
       
      FeralFoxTrot's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      SoV-FeralWIFI
      Location
      NZ Auckland
      Posts
      380
      Quote Originally Posted by Effort View Post
      http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...d-75253b893343

      pretty simple registry edit lets you permanently change the defalcate directory. Apart from that the only real thing to do is select a custom install location everytime you install something.
      Do you need to set up your d drive? Like the same folders that are in the c drive by default.

    6. #6
      Lurker Extraordinaire
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      Effort's Avatar
      Join Date
      26 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      Efforttt
      Posts
      46
      Just make an install folder in your second harddrive, it can be called anything.

    7. #7
      High Council
      BF Captain
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Godly
       
      XiSTNZ's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      XiSTNZ-HB
      Posts
      902
      I did it a longer way, so if that way works, do that. if not i can show you my way. but it needs to be done from the very start. before installing anything else, even drivers.

    8. #8
      Registered User
      Mood:
      Sneaky
       
      FeralFoxTrot's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      SoV-FeralWIFI
      Location
      NZ Auckland
      Posts
      380
      What method was yours Joel? The parts haven't even been ordered yet.

    9. #9
      High Council
      BF Captain
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Godly
       
      XiSTNZ's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      XiSTNZ-HB
      Posts
      902
      Went into reg edit and physically changed the mapping directory of the system. the majority of stuff still installs base to ssd, but i just copy it across and run from new drive.

      Link Here

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •