• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • User Tag List

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: New Modem :)

    1. #1
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      720barry's Avatar
      Join Date
      26 Sep 2015
      Battlelog
      IIIFluxx
      Posts
      20

      Lightbulb New Modem :)

      Yes, I know there's like 3-4 posts regarding Modems on the forums but my situation is a bit wierd and the other posts are a little bit old (I think). So at the moment, my PC is connected to internet via an ethernet cable to the Telstra modem. Whenever the WiFi is on, my net just craps itself and my ping on certain days shoots from 70 to 1000ms on CS and R6. My friend suggested finding the device that's wh*ring the net and then deal with it then. I have a little feeling that buying a new modem with 5ghz frequency band capability will reduce the congestion and stabilise the net a bit, especially on shit Download/Upload speeds.
      1. Is this the correct way to approach this problem?
      2. Any suggestions? Looking at the Billion modems already and my budget is $200.
      Thanks a lot, have a good one.

      EDIT: I have ADSL 1 at the moment and NBN (FTTN) is set to roll out next year so getting a modem would be just helpful for NBN too ADSL 2+ and Cable (no HFC nearby) is unavailable at my town.

    2. #2
      Advisory Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Awesome
       
      pksllayer's Avatar
      Join Date
      18 Apr 2014
      Battlelog
      -Lg-pksllayer
      Location
      Wouldn't you like to know Hairy :)
      Posts
      146
      Actually any router with a decent software that you can configure to do QoS decently seems like it'll do the job for you

    3. #3
      Registered User
      Mood:
      ----
       
      720barry's Avatar
      Join Date
      26 Sep 2015
      Battlelog
      IIIFluxx
      Posts
      20
      Quote Originally Posted by pksllayer View Post
      Actually any router with a decent software that you can configure to do QoS decently seems like it'll do the job for you
      Tempted to get a Netgear Nighthawk for long term. Heard that its solid.

    4. #4
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Wtf
       
      IamTriggerHappy's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      IamTriggerHappy
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      612
      My advice is to steer clear of netgear and belkin.

      Cheep products made from cheep gear designed to fail.

      Go with the billion 7800.

      Can't go wrong
      IamTriggerHappy | Head of Treasury & Clan Accounts | Email | Steam Profile | Sons of Valour


    5. #5
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Godly
       
      Voltstriker's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      VoItstriker
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      Over 9000!!!
      Can confirm that netgear doesn't bring the same quality that a billion 7800 brings (its widely recommended as one of the best modems)
      Voltstriker | Head of Clan Systems & Servers | Email | Battlelog Profile | CyberGamer Profile


    6. #6
      Server Administrator
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Piratey
       
      Pirate_Radio's Avatar
      Join Date
      22 Nov 2013
      Battlelog
      Pirate_Radio
      Posts
      196
      i just bought myself a fritz box 7490. we have been using the 7390 at my office for a couple years now and hasnt missed a beat. they have all the bells and whistles.

      they are german made and not chinese. therefore does not have the backdoors built in for the chinese govt. im not sure if the taiwanese billion routers have them though.

    7. #7
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Wtf
       
      IamTriggerHappy's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      IamTriggerHappy
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      612
      Quote Originally Posted by Pirate_Radio View Post
      i just bought myself a fritz box 7490. we have been using the 7390 at my office for a couple years now and hasnt missed a beat. they have all the bells and whistles.

      they are german made and not chinese. therefore does not have the backdoors built in for the chinese govt. im not sure if the taiwanese billion routers have them though.
      I've heard good things about Fritz boxes!
      IamTriggerHappy | Head of Treasury & Clan Accounts | Email | Steam Profile | Sons of Valour


    8. #8
      Server Administrator
      Clan Member
      Mood:
      Piratey
       
      Pirate_Radio's Avatar
      Join Date
      22 Nov 2013
      Battlelog
      Pirate_Radio
      Posts
      196
      Quote Originally Posted by IamTriggerHappy View Post
      I've heard good things about Fritz boxes!
      definitely no complaints here, and they have a 5 year warranty

    9. #9
      High Council
      Clan Member
      Donator
      Mood:
      Godly
       
      Voltstriker's Avatar
      Join Date
      24 Sep 2013
      Battlelog
      VoItstriker
      Location
      Melbourne
      Posts
      Over 9000!!!
      I give fritz boxes a glowing endorsement for their local network security, have been in eternal combat with one since it was purchased at my place
      Voltstriker | Head of Clan Systems & Servers | Email | Battlelog Profile | CyberGamer Profile


    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •